The Todd Herman Show
The Todd Herman Show
A Seattle Cop Just Quit. Now, She Tells Her Story. Exclusive interview with Megan Reynolds.
2
0:00
-48:39

A Seattle Cop Just Quit. Now, She Tells Her Story. Exclusive interview with Megan Reynolds.

Episode 139, Hour 2
2

THE THESIS: Seattle is spiritually dead, most of its citizens hate God. Now, the body of Seattle is being murdered.

THE SCRIPTURE & SCRIPTURAL RESOURCES: 

Proverbs 6:31

31 Yet if [the thief] is caught, he must pay sevenfold,

    though it costs him all the wealth of his house.

Matthew 5:11-13

11 “Blessed are you when people insult you, persecute you and falsely say all kinds of evil against you because of me. 12 Rejoice and be glad, because great is your reward in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

Salt and Light

13 “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.

THE NEWS & COMMENT:

Four teens arrested after gunfire erupts in Tacoma neighborhood

Officers arrested a man Thursday morning in Capitol Hill after he stole a car with an infant in the back seat, rolled the car over in a collision, and then fled the scene:

Burglar caught by Woodinville seven-year-old in family living room

A man allegedly terrorized a Seattle school, grabbing two students according to the custodian, yet BLM-supporting Principal Ric Baileykaze refused to cooperate with police, according to the SPD."Principal R. Baileykaze... would not speak to me." -officer

Resignation Letter

(This resignation Letter was sent out to SPD Chief Adrian Diaz and CC'd to all SPD employees. Some words have been altered to avoid waking Facebook's pernicious nanny bots.)

Chief Diaz and Whomever it May Concern:

Recently I was advised that my employer, the Seattle Police Department was unable to find a reasonable accommodation for my religious exemption from the kØhѵiɗ ѵ@ɔɔinϵ mandate that took effect October 2021. For clarification, the reasonable accommodation I requested was that I be permitted to receive the ѵ@ɔɔinάɫiѳn upon such time that my daughter is weaned from breastfeeding. Such gall!

After I was already informed in November that I would not be granted an accommodation, then a day later advised that was sent to me in error. It is clear despite the Department’s responsibility to consider each request individually, in good faith, with care and diligence, there was never any intent to grant any accommodation to anyone. This was demonstrated time and again by the Department’s actions and proven by notes we were never supposed to see that were attached to some of the documents.

Over the many months of this “interactive process” I was contacted by SPD HR three times, including the once in error, and not from a lack of trying on my part. Several emails and inquiries from both myself and SPOG were ignored. There was no interaction, nor any process. The decision was predetermined. Any delays were merely for crafting the decision in the most liability-reducing manner possible. Any appeal on my part entertained merely to build a legally defensible façade that accommodations were actually being dutifully considered as required by federal law. From the outset requestors were expressly forbidden from making arguments with reason or science. Previous kØhѵiɗ infϵkshuns such as I had, given the superior protection imparted, were preemptively struck down as exemption from the mandate. The only possible explanation for this is that reason or science, aptly applied, could defeat the rationality of the mandate. This is the conduct of cowards.

I no longer wish to serve such cowards.

The brass at SPD and the officials within the city government regard themselves as the betters of their employees, superiority granted and confirmed by their positions. But these are positions not gained by merit or effort, but by nepotism and chicanery. Leaders aren’t promoted for their leadership skills, but rather their fitness as sycophants. In reality they aren’t fit to do the officers’ laundry. In reality they are being propped up by the labors of their betters and they feel no shame using officers’ bodies as ladder rungs to their next position.

I had the honor and privilege to serve with true heroes. People who willingly stand between violence and innocence daily. People who as a routine matter of survival must wear body armor, drive cars with bullet-resistant panels, and carry bullet-resistant shields to calls for service. People who are routinely called to hold the most violent to account for their crimes and address situations no one else wants to, and would scarcely be able to, and are expected to perform with superhuman ability. They are not permitted basic human error, or fatigue, or feeling. They do this under the scrutinizing eyes of no less than six oversight entities who all desperately want nothing more than to find officers making mistakes but fail so miserably that they must go out of their way to suspend officers for using no-no words.

City Hall has been operating under the illusion that those who stand between violence and innocence are unnecessary, exemplars of a racist system even. Now those officers I described are all but gone, and the innocent remain, will the violent magically disappear? Or, Or, facing little consequence, will they simply revel in their newfound access to victims?

In spite of the wonderful people I worked with who routinely stuck their necks out for me, my career at SPD was punctuated with abuse at the hands of so called leaders. From being photographed while dressing in the locker room, to being chastised for using sick time when I suffered complications following a surgery and nearly died, to being denied a transfer for my choice of dress while off duty (I was described as a distraction whilst wearing fairly standard exercise clothes). Instead, I was forced to transfer elsewhere against my will.

I was put in unsafe situations as a young undercover and railroaded by those running an operation because they didn’t want to admit they had screwed up, so they lied, and they expected me to lie for them. I didn’t.

I was later again chastised for my hairstyle, a ponytail, also while off duty. Other (male and transgender) officers who were knowingly and flagrantly violating the grooming policy every day were given a pass. I was attacked and drug through the administrative mud for having a ponytail off duty because supervisors thought they could leverage it against me. And those who did so lied about their malicious disrespectful conduct.

I was once accused of being unprofessional for mentioning to a colleague that I felt like a target was painted on my back. The accuser in this instance was another SPD employee who was actively monitoring my communications and activity, exactly as one might expect if a target was painted on my back. The entire episode was proof that there was indeed a target on my back. I was punished and ordered to officially acknowledge that I didn’t feel this way, I refused. This is Orwellian thought police in action.

I was stalked for years by another employee who used police systems to track me. Not only did the department do nothing about it, but they in fact also knowingly allowed this person to continue to stalk me with their systems for two years. I was told derisively and flippantly I should get an anti-harassment order by department admin, because they weren’t going to do anything, and clearly doubted that I could or would. So I did. Even still, despite having a valid, legal, court-ordered anti-harassment order that I brought to the attention of the chain of command, the department did nothing and allowed this person to violate the order. During this ordeal OPA even fed my stalker confidential information about me.

Legal counsel have told me that this conduct is certainly illegal, but simply not worth the cost of bringing suit because it didn’t cost me any tangible monetary value.

Every step of the way the SPD leadership lied. They lied naturally, repeatedly, and shamelessly to cover their own self-interests. They lied with the comforting knowledge that their subordinates would suffer for it in their stead. They don’t care. They routinely issue orders to officers based on political expediency, not law or prudence, certainly not public safety. When questions inevitably arise about the poor decision making, they lie and profess they never made any such order, forcing the officers to take the blame. Some notable examples include orders to use blast balls and other crowd control devices during the summer of 2020 riots, and orders to allow Antifa to assault Back the Blue demonstrators at Green Lake Park.

So pervasive is this incompetence and festering cowardice, no one seems to know who ordered the surrender of the East Precinct, nor the orders to stand idly while the resulting utopia project rapidly and predictably fell into chaos and cost lives. To be clear, they know exactly who made those orders, this is why they unlawfully deleted all their communication from this time. They’re cowards.

The total lack of competent leadership during this time will forever be a disgraceful blemish upon our history. The officers performed admirably, with no direction, no leadership, and no support. And at every chance the brass was afforded, they used the officers as so much fodder then tossed them aside when their utility waned. Seattle and Seattle PD are now the laughing stock of the world.

Not one of SPD’s brass were concerned about anything but self-aggrandizement, political optics, and liability control. Only how something looks, never how something is, and most certainly not public safety. Not one of them ever had any interest in my performance as a competent and effective police officer, nor were any of them ever concerned the least bit about my welfare. But my ponytail is a severe transgression. My off-duty clothing choices threatening to the cohesion of the entire department. My very thoughts and feelings considered a security threat.

These are not isolated incidents. This is business as usual at SPD.

SPD cultivates and even enforces an attitude of caution over reason, “de-escalation” over intervention, prioritizing “optics” over reality, how something appears rather than how it works, a wait-and-see approach that puts people at risk. This is ultimately just desperate justification for their own cowardice. Just as they order officers not to pursue armed robbers and would-be drive-by murderers who even fired on officers, these are exactly the sort of people who would order officers not to make entry into a school when a psychopath is actively murdering children.

I pray that day never comes, but if it does, I truly hope the officers who remain have the courage to disregard such orders, but the officers who do are now few, and far between. Sometimes it seems SPD doesn’t want courageous officers, but rather those who simply follow orders without question.

The last day I wore the uniform of a Seattle Police Officer, when it was determined my presence was too great a risk due to not being ѵ@ɔɔin8ed, I was unceremoniously ordered to vacate by a man who was entrusted with the command of a police precinct and has numerous arrests for DUI and one for domestic violence, and clearly suffers from an inferiority complex. How appropriate.

Since then, he has been arrested once more for DUI, and probably thinks no one knows. We all know. Also since then, SPD suffered the highest rates of kØhѵiɗ infection since the ҏ@ԯdԑӎic began. Very nearly every kØhѵiɗ infection at SPD happened after the mandate took full effect, meaning very nearly everyone at SPD who suffered a kØhѵiɗ infection, was fully ѵ@ɔɔin8ed against it. That makes for the crappiest ѵ@ɔɔinϵ ever. So crappy in fact that mandates have been rescinded all over the country. There is now established case law supporting iꝳꝳunity following infekshun can and perhaps should be accepted in lieu of requiring ѵ@ɔɔinάɫiѳn. Even Portland has rescinded their ѵ@ɔɔinϵ mandate. But not Seattle, never Seattle. 

It’s clear that this mandate is not about science, and certainly not public safety. As we all know Seattle leadership cares little if anything about public safety. This mandate was only ever about conforming to ideology. Well, I won’t. I’ve therefore been on unpaid leave for eight months. And despite promising to receive the ѵ@ɔɔinϵ just after my child is no longer breastfeeding, which could be a matter of weeks, SPD sent me a new letter stating again that no accommodation was available, and my choices are either get ѵ@ɔɔin8ed now or resign. SPD also sent out letters dated May 9, 2022, advising those of us who have not been ѵ@ɔɔin8ed that our benefits will be getting terminated as of October 31, 2021. That is, retroactively. This strikes me as radically illegal.

Not to mention unethical and childishly petty. And a contract violation. If there’s one thing Seattle knows, it’s that they can violate contracts with impunity because it will take years to find resolution.

Despite all of Seattle’s posturing and threatening they have yet to fire a single officer who was denied an exemption from the mandate. They simply placed everyone on unpaid leave. Just as with everything else they do, Seattle’s leadership is so craven and risk averse they don’t even have the minerals to stand by their policies and terminate the unѵ@ɔɔin8ed as they threatened nearly a year ago. They know it will be considerably liability-inducing. They know they did not follow the law in the denials. So instead, they try to make life as uncomfortable as possible for these people such that they, like me and so many before me, simply resign.

With pride and dedication I served the people of Seattle for eight years. Everyday risking my life for theirs. Enduring repeat abuse and garbage leadership for the sake of doing right and being there for my colleagues. For eight years I was a good cop. But Seattle doesn’t want good cops.

I hope those leaders and competent supervisors at SPD don’t take offense to this. If the manner I described SPD’s leadership rings true for you and you’re feeling inexplicably defensive, well, if the shoe fits, Cinderella.

This is obviously not the case for every supervisor at SPD. I’ve had many great ones, they’re unfortunately terribly outnumbered and hamstrung in their ability to do good. They face harsh scrutiny for protecting their officers and are often transferred to positions with few or no subordinates to care for, many have preceded me in leaving. Among the superior leaders at SPD one can count Chief Wilske, Chief Green, Lt Curtis, Lt Geoghegan, Lt Nguyen, Lt Aagard, Sgt Sauer, Sgt Hadley, Sgt Jones, Sgt Waltz, Sgt Janes, and Sgt Patterson. Some were demoted as a result of their devotion to public safety and their officers, and some are no longer with SPD.

After serving alongside some of the most respectable, selfless, professional law enforcers and people of the utmost integrity, the conduct of the administrative staff and officials of the City of Seattle and the Seattle Police Department is nothing short of egregious dereliction, utter incompetence, and malicious persecution. The routine treatment of the officers at the hands of their supervisors is disgusting and appalling. Now the majority of those good officers are gone. Run out by systemic mistreatment and persecution. The people of Seattle suffer for it.

That I as a veteran female officer, a Christian, breastfeeding mother, am being forced out by corrupt, indelibly arrogant, and chauvinistic administrators for the nature of my convictions, being stronger and ethically superior to their own, seems a fitting end to my career.

I therefore tender my resignation, effective immediately.

Ofc. M. Reynolds #7745

South Precinct Patrol

2 Comments