Preview

A Christian View of The Mike Tyson Vs. Jake Paul Fight?

The Mad Max Run-Up

 This post has been updated. Episode 1,487 is now available for viewing below the paywall. Not a subscriber yet, click here!   


Episode 1,486 - A Christian View of The Mike Tyson Vs. Jake Paul Fight? (AUDIO & VIDEO)

Listen to Episode 1,486

Can Christians watch the Mike Tyson vs. Jake Paul fight? I examine this as we go through the show, and process this live. It’s not that I have a huge problem with violence, except I am a discipled man. These two men are fighting each other for money, it’s a sport. I don’t even have a problem with MMA, but there is something about this fight that leaves me questioning whether I should watch it. We take a biblical look at this because the Bible is useful for teaching and correction. Towards the end of the program I came to a conclusion that surprised me. We also take some time to hear veteran’s stories  of godly use of justified force.

What does God’s Word say? 

Romans 7:18

18 For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature.[a] For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.

Galatians 5:19-24

19 The acts of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; 20 idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions 21 and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. 24 Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.

Episode 1,486 Links:

Episode 1,487 - America 2024: The Mad Max run-up (AUDIO & VIDEO)

Listen to Episode 1,487

We’re going to go through the steps in this Mad Max run-up. You know Letitia James, she is seeking to destroy the political opposition of the Democrats. Of course she is corrupt. The American Irish Historical Society falsified the worth of their properties, took out loans on the falsified worth, and then didn't pay the loans back. This is exactly what President Trump has been accused of and what Letitia James is trying to prosecute him for, but he is not going after the society and in fact, defended them. Another step in this Mad Max run-up is what is happening at the southern border. If you don't have laws you have moods. When you are ruled by mood, pretty soon you are ruled by mob. The next step would be to limit our access to fuels and food. Oh wait, they are doing just that.

What does God’s Word say? 

Romans 7:18

18 For I know that good itself does not dwell in me, that is, in my sinful nature.[a] For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out.

Galatians 5:19-24

19 The acts of the flesh are obvious: sexual immorality, impurity and debauchery; 20 idolatry and witchcraft; hatred, discord, jealousy, fits of rage, selfish ambition, dissensions, factions 21 and envy; drunkenness, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I did before, that those who live like this will not inherit the kingdom of God.

22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, 23 gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. 24 Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the flesh with its passions and desires.

Episode 1,487 Links:


Watch Monday’s 8MinuteFocus

The Todd Herman Show is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.


Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to The Todd Herman Show to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.